Municipal Vote Election: BJD has 73 Seats

Municipal Vote Election: BJD Has 73 Seats

Bhubaneswar: The ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) has won a landslide victory in municipal elections like the panchayat. Of the 105 municipalities and notified areas councils (NACs) in the state, the BJD has won 73 seats. The BJP has 14 candidates and the Congress four candidates. Similarly, four other parties or independent candidates have won the post of mayor.

Three out of three districts of Anugul have lost to the BJP. Similarly, four BJD and one BJP candidate from five Balasore constituencies have won. Three BJD and one independent candidate from four seats in Bargarh district have won. Of the four municipal constituencies in Bhadrak, three have been elected. Of those, two have been occupied by the BJP and one has been handed over.

The BJD candidate won three of the five seats in Balangir district, while the BJP and the Congress lost one seat each. The sole mayor of the Buddhist district has sided with the BJP. In Cuttack, all the municipal posts have been transferred to the BJD account. BJD is the sole mayor of Devgarh. In Ganjam district, there are a total of 14 municipalities, with 12 chairmanship. Similarly, the three BJP, the Congress and the Wadhin have won one seat each. The two municipalities in Gajapati district have been chaired by the BJD. In Jagatsinghpur, one of the two municipal seats has been won by the Congress and one by the BJP. Two Yak mayoral seats in Jajpur district have gone in favor of the BJP. Out of the two seats in Jharsuguda district, the BJD and the Congress have won each other.

Similarly, the BJD and the BJP have won two Lok Sabha seats in the four municipal constituencies of Kalahandi. Out of the three municipal seats in Kandhamal district, two BJD and one BJP have lost. Kendrapara has won two Yak seats in the BJD. Out of the five constituencies in Kendujhar, four BJDs and one BJP have lost. All five seats in Khordha have gone to the BJP. In four seats in Koraput district, one BJD, two Congress and one independent candidate won. The BJD and the BJP have won one of the two seats in Malkangiri. In Mayurbhanj, the BJD has won three of the four seats and the BJP candidate one. One BJD and one BJP have lost two Nabarangpur municipal constituencies. Two BJD and two independent candidates have emerged victorious out of the four mayors in Nayagarh. In Nuapadha, one BJP, one Congress and one independent have been injured in three mayors.

The BJD has won three Yak seats in Puri. Two BJD and one independent candidate from three constituencies in Rayagada district have won. The BJD and BJP have won one of the two seats in Sambalpur. Three Yak constituencies in Subarnapur have gone to BJP. Two BJD and one BJP candidate have won from three constituencies in Sundergarh district.